Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

SMART Wind Virtual Meeting: Inverters & Variable Frequency Drives

August 26, 2015 @ 2:30 pm - 4:00 pm

SMART Wind Virtual Meeting: Inverters & Variable Frequency Drives

Wednesday, August 26, 2015
11:30p-1:00p PDT/12:30p-2:00p MDT/1:30p-3:00p CDT/ 2:30p-4:00p EDT

Join members of the SMART Wind Electrical Subgroup for a virtual meeting to discuss inverters and variable frequency drives for the US distributed wind energy industry. Speakers and presentations will include:

 

Dr. Rob Wills, Intergrid: Dr. Wills was recently awarded a Competitiveness Improvement Project (CIP) subcontract from the US Department of Energy (DOE) to develop a 20-40 kW single phase inverter to work with VFD drives and wind turbines. Rob is an Electrical Subgroup leader for the SMART Wind Consortium.

 

Dr. Charles Sullivan, Dartmouth:  We learned of Dr. Everett Carpenter’s work developing next-generation magnet materials at Nanofoundry from the folks at the Power Electronics Industry Collaborative (PEIC). We look forward to hearing from Charlie, one of the leading magnetics researchers in the U.S., on optimizing magnetics for inverters and discussing how they might impact distributed wind.

 

The meeting is free for DWEA members, government, and non-profit employees.

There is a $25 registration charge for others. A GoToMeeting weblink and dial-in instructions will be provided in your registration confirmation email.

Details

Date:
August 26, 2015
Time:
2:30 pm - 4:00 pm
Event Categories:
,

Venue

GoToMeeting